top of page

My Winter Skincare Picks - BLOGMAS


A few of you have requested a skincare routine but as a blogger I am always trying out new skincare products so I don't exactly have a routine set in stone. Instead I thought I'd go through what I'm using right now, whether it's a holy grail or a product that is brand new to my collection. Obviously if I try a product and don't get along with it, I don't keep it around so these are all products I love they just might change by next month as I'll be trying out some new ones. Anything I really like does stay in my routine somewhere though, and therefore I will repurchase a few of these and in some cases already have.

Face Wash

My favorite kind of face wash is a good foaming cleanser so I figured I'd tell you about my two current favorites. I don't like anything too harsh as a face wash, especially in winter, as I use some other products which can be quite harsh so my top two are both very gentle. First up is the Simple Kind To Skin Vital Vitamin Foaming Cleanser which I tend to pick up from superdrug.com for around £4.95. This one is very nourishing and gentle but will still remove all the dirt from the skin. It's also more affordable than the other, which is the Caudalie Instant Foaming Cleanser. They both very much do the same thing but I find the Caudalie one more soothing if I have a breakout, that one is £15.00 at lookfantastic.com.

Makeup Removal

I ALWAYS double cleanse when I'm removing my makeup so first I use either the Garnier Oil Infused Micellar Water (superdurg.com £5.99) or Coconut Oil (superdrug.com £2.49 or £8.99) to dissolve my makeup. Both are effective and very nourishing on the skin. The coconut oil is also great for your hair and as a moisturizer, especially in winter. Secondly I use the Perricone MD Blue Plasma Cleansing Treatment which is available from cultbeauty.co.uk for £36.00. I am obsessed with this stuff. It is the perfect second step cleanser and it also tones the skin at the same time. The salmon egg enzymes in it work to eliminate all traces of dull, dead skin cells and it also soothes and repairs skin by infusing it with copper.

Face Masks

I LIVE for a good face mask so picking favorites would be impossible but right now I'm using the Loreal Pure Clay Detox Mask (superdrug.com £7.99) once a week to draw out all the dirt and impurities. This mask is perfect on uneven skin texture and blackheads. After using this mask I like to apply a moisturizing one so as not to leave skin stripped and dry. Currently I am working my way through a pot of the NSPA 5 Minute Magic Pore Refining Mask which has unfortunately been discontinued! I panic bought like 6 pots of it in the clearance section at Asda for 75p each when I found out. It's great for keeping that dry winter skin at bay!

Exfoliators

My skin is a little bit funny about exfoliators so I have to be careful...anything with high Vitamin C content in particular tends to break me out. Currently I've managed to find two that are working for me, one of which is more affordable and the other more expensive. The B.Revealed Glycolic Cleansing Peel is £7.99 from superdrug.com and its not harsh at all. It smells good which is always a bonus and it leaves skin feeling refreshed, clean and even. The second is the Gatineau Peeling Expert Pro-Radiance Anti-aging Gommage which is available from gatineau.co.uk for £43.00. I know, I know, it's expensive but I promise you it's worth it! This one is a lot stronger and can also be used as a mask if you wish. Its full of antioxidants, improves elasticity and is BRILLIANT on uneven skin texture.

Face Creams/Moisturizers

As a day moisturizer I am currently using the NSPA Brightening Day Cream with SPF 15 (yes you still need SPF in winter!). Unfortunately this has also been discontinued but, again, I panic bought like 6 bottles on clearance. However another good one that I really enjoy is the Simple Kind To Skin Protecting Moisturizer with SPF 30. As you will already know if you've been reading my monthly favorites I am LOVING the Gatineau Perfection Ultime Retexturizing Beauty Cream, again this is expensive as it comes in at £86.00 on gatineau.co.uk but I honestly feel like it's magic in a jar. It has worked wonders on my uneven skin texture, it plumps skin and the caviar extract rejuvenates and reactivates skin cells. It also sinks in quickly which is a must for me because I hate waiting around for products to sink in properly. It's really great for hydration which is KEY in winter!

Lip Balm

Lip balm is a must before you do your makeup adn before bed, especially if you suffer with dry, cracked lips in winter like I do. My favorite is and has been for years, the Carmex Moisturizing Lip Balm formula. It's the only thing I've found that really works for me. You pick up a tube for around £2.69 at superdrug.com and they have a bunch of finishes and flavours available, some of them even have SPF 15! It's a solid WIN for the ionwter months!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page